MAMA LO’S SOUL FOOD ~ FRESNO

I’m trying to eat my way thru West Fresno and Mama Lo’s is a new place that’s been open since April. I tried to try this place a week ago but it was closed. It’s a family run operation and they cater too so they had a catering job that day. We went back today and thank goodness they were open. They were a little hard to find the last time but now thay have a banner over their door.

Karen had the fried chicken, dark meat and I had the chicken white meat. She had for sides the mac n cheese and greens. I had blackeyed peas and greens. The orders come with cornbread and everything was great. The greens were especially good. Their menu also includes ribs and tri tip. On Fridays they have fish. We’ve got to go back to try other sides. Pretty economical too, two of us ate for less than 20 bucks

The owner was very pleasant and congenial and explained that they are starting slow. They are only open Monday thru Friday from 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Mama Lo’s Soul Food
952 F. Street
559-443-1640

3 Responses to MAMA LO’S SOUL FOOD ~ FRESNO

  1. Karen says:

    I totally agree with your assessment of Mama Lo’s. It was absolutely delicious. The chicken was so nice and crispy without a hint of greasiness, moist and flavorful. I can’t wait to try more sides on our next visit. I wonder if you can order extra sides? I think I could eat the greens every day. Totally the best I have ever eaten and would love the secret of the sweet/spicy/tangy dish. I know there was sugar of some sort, tiny ham or bacon bits, vinegar and either hot sauce or pepper flakes flavoring. I never truly understood “potlicker” until I found myself wanting to enjoy every single drop of the stuff at Mama Lo’s. Ended up sopping my last piece of cornbread in the flavorful juice. Yummy! Looking forward to our next trip and trying the fish, ribs, and tri tip too. I had no room for dessert but want to try the peach cobbler and sweet potato pie on a future visit. Family run businesses like this should be sought out and supported. You could feel the dedication and effort that had gone into this place from the friendly family putting their all into this endeavor. Really looking forward to my next meal there!

  2. Broil-King BBQ…

    […]MAMA LO’S SOUL FOOD ~ FRESNO « bottomfeeder[…]…

  3. bathing suit says:

    bathing suit…

    […]MAMA LO’S SOUL FOOD ~ FRESNO « bottomfeeder[…]…

Leave a Reply

